EUREKA is a European initiative for application-oriented research and development. It offers companies and scientific institutions the framework for cross-border and market-oriented cooperation on innovative topics. ITEA 4 is a cluster under EUREKA, led by industry and supporting projects in the field of software-intensive systems and services (SiSS). The funding is awarded via national or regional funding programmes after receiving an ITEA-4 label in the participating countries. These national funds must be applied for separately.

ITEA 4: Benefits for applicants

In contrast to larger programmes, ITEA 4 has a lean structure:

  • Open topics: the project partners define the content, scope, nature and duration of the cooperation
  • Low administrative effort
  • Easy application
  • Quick evaluation
  • Outstanding success rate

ITEA 4 topic areas (challenges)

The topics of ITEA 4 are as follows:

  • Smart cities
  • Smart municipalities
  • Smart health
  • Smart mobility
  • Smart industry
  • Smart energy
  • Smart engineering
  • Safety and security

Target groups of ITEA 4

Although the ITEA 4 cluster is industry-driven, the calls for proposals are not only aimed at large-scale industry, but also at small and medium-sized enterprises, universities, non-university research institutions and user organisations. They usually participate as partners in ITEA-4 projects.

Which countries participate in ITEA 4?

24 of the 27 EU Member States are participating in ITEA 4 – Latvia, Poland and Slovakia are the exceptions. Project partners from the following non-EU countries are also eligible to apply:

  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Canada
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United States of America
  • United Kingdom

Calls for proposals and funding conditions

ITEA-4 calls are published once a year. The application process has two stages: A Project Outline (PO) is submitted first, followed by a Full Project Proposal (FPP). If the application is approved, projects receive the ITEA-4 label, which the project partners can use to apply for national funding in their respective home states. In Germany, the DLR project-executing organisation serves as the point of contact for ITEA-4 projects. It works closely with the German funding body, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.


  • An ITEA-4 consortium must include at least two partners from two participating states or one participating state and one associated state, be industry-driven as well as innovative and market-oriented.
  • The project duration is usually three years.
  • ITEA 4 is – within the SSiS framework – open-topic.
  • The time frame from submission of the project outline to the start of the project is approx. 7 months.

More about ITEA 4 on the web:

Official website of ITEA 4

Contact at BayFOR:

Dipl.-Ing. Robert Iberl

Dipl.-Ing Robert Iberl
Scientific Officer Information & Communication Technologies |
Engineering & Natural Sciences
Phone: +49 89 9901888-131

Competent Support for Excellent Research in Bavaria, Europe and the World

Quick links

Competent Support for Excellent Research in Bavaria, Europe and the World

BayFOR Bavarian Research and Innovation Agency