Participation in Horizon Europe

Who can participate?

Legal entities from an EU member state, an associated state or a third country (states that are neither members nor contractual partners of the EU). In collaborative research projects, a consortium comprises at least three independent institutions from three different EU Member States or associated countries. New to Horizon Europe is the fact that at least one member must come from an EU Member State.

List of all associated states (as of October 2021)

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Faroe Islands
  • Georgia
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Kosovo
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Northern Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Serbia
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom

The UK is considered an associated country despite Brexit and can participate in Horizon Europe (but not in ERASMUS). The only exception is for equity in the EIC Accelerator - here participation is not possible.

Are there specific conditions when it comes to the participation of third countries?

Partners from third countries can participate in a Horizon Europe project together with institutions from EU Member States and associated states. In some cases, the tenders even explicitly provide for the involvement of non-European partners. The framework programme is therefore open to scientists and innovators worldwide.

Horizon Europe distinguishes between low to middle income countries and other countries. Participants from the following low- to middle-income countries are automatically eligible (as of October 2021):

  • Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi
  • Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Congo (Republic), Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba
  • Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador, Egypt (Arab Republic), El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana
  • Haiti, Honduras
  • Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic), Iraq
  • Jamaica, Jordan
  • Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic), Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lao (People’s Democratic Republic), Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya
  • Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia (Federated States), Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar
  • Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria
  • Pakistan, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu
  • Uganda, Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic), Vietnam
  • Yemen Republic
  • Zambia, Zimbabwe

All other third countries are generally ineligible unless explicitly mentioned in the work programme or the authorising authority considers that participation as a beneficiary is essential for the implementation of the project, e.g. in terms of outstanding competence/expertise, access to specific research infrastructures, access to a specific geographic environment or access to specific data.

Can funding also be received as an individual applicant?

Individual applicants may be funded for the following measures or programmes:

Contact at BayFOR

Are you planning a research or innovation project but don't have the funding yet? Turn your idea into reality and bring top Bavarian research to EU level! Contact our scientific officers for specific information on individual disciplines:

If at least one partner is part of the consortium from Bavaria, BayFOR’s help is free of charge!




Competent Support for Excellent Research in Bavaria, Europe and the World

Quick links

Competent Support for Excellent Research in Bavaria, Europe and the World

Logo der Bayerischen Forschungs- und Innovationsagentur