European University Alliances: 15 more German universities join the network

 European University Alliances

German universities have been successful in the current selection round of the European University Network: 15 German universities are participating in the 14 new networks. Among them are the four German universities TH Würzburg-Schweinfurt, TH Deggendorf, OTH Regensburg and TH Ingolstadt. The Commission selected the new European University Alliances as part of an Erasmus+ call and will support them with up to €14.4 million each over a period of four years.

The freedom to learn, study, teach and research without borders across the continent

The alliances of European universities bring together a new generation of Europeans and enable them to study and work in different European countries, in different languages, as well as in different sectoral and academic disciplines. Students can obtain a university degree by combining studies in several European countries, which contributes to the international attractiveness and competitiveness of European higher education. These alliances also bring innovation to Europe's regions by enabling students to work with academics, researchers, businesses, cities, public authorities and civil society organisations.

A network that transcends national borders

The 64 alliances cover 35 countries, including all EU member states, as well as Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Montenegro, the Republic of North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia and Turkey. They are firmly rooted in communities and innovation networks that bring together almost 2,200 associated partners – from non-governmental organisations to companies, cities, local and regional authorities and higher education institutions from the countries of the Bologna Process. For example, almost 40 higher education institutions from Ukraine are associated partners.

The call for proposals for Erasmus+ in 2024 will also support the establishment of a European University Practice Community, which will strengthen peer learning between the alliances and promote the dissemination of reusable results and models across the higher education sector. The 14 new European University Alliances and the European University Practice Community will start their activities in autumn.

As set out in the European Higher Education Degree Concept presented in March 2024, the Commission will continue to support European University Alliances and any other type of partnership between higher education institutions to facilitate the provision of joint study programmes.

Source: EU commission

Competent Support for Excellent Research in Bavaria, Europe and the World

Quick links

Competent Support for Excellent Research in Bavaria, Europe and the World

BayFOR Bavarian Research and Innovation Agency